Hardik’s Controversial Bold: Cleverness or Retaliation, Did Ishaan show the mirror to Latham through this appeal?
Ishan Kishan in India vs New Zealand 1st ODI: There is a lot of discussion about an appeal by Indian team’s young wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan, which he made in the first ODI against New Zealand.
Team India’s star all-rounder Hardik Pandya controversially returned to the pavilion in the first ODI against New Zealand on Wednesday. He became the victim of Daryl Mitchell in the 40th over. In fact, there was controversy over Hardik’s dismissal because the wickets fell on wicketkeeper Tom Latham’s gloves and not the ball. However, the third umpire did not check many angles and called Hardik bold. His innings ended after scoring 28 runs in 38 balls with the help of 3 fours. India scored 349/8 in the match.
Ishaan shows mirror to Latham?
At the same time, when the New Zealand team started chasing the target, it did not start well. Latham came out to bat with the fall of three wickets and then India’s wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan made an appeal, which is being talked about a lot. Latham defended the fourth ball of the 16th over bowled by Kuldeep Yadav but Ishaan appealed by putting the gloves on the stumps. The third umpire checked and declared Latham not-out. Many cricket fans on social media say that Ishaan has shown a mirror to Latham on Hardik’s controversial dismissal by making such an appeal.
Latham could not play big innings
Latham spent a good amount of time at the crease in the first ODI but could not play a big innings. After facing 46 balls, he scored 24 runs with the help of 3 fours. He was made his victim by fast bowler Mohammad Siraj on the fourth ball of the 29th over. In the process of playing a pull shot on Latham bouncer, Washington Sundar was caught at deep midwicket. Latham is serving as the wicketkeeper as well as the stand-in captain in the current series.